Fake accounts

After Elon Musk took over Twitter, now X, I departed for Mastodon though it never had much of an audience despite many sign-ups, it just remained niche. Other platforms similarly have remained grains of sand in the ocean, people drop by, check it out, and leave dissatisfied at lack of a community to interact with.

Though Threads amassed a large user base quickly it was hugely annoying in that your timeline was scattered like Instagram’s, I quickly got rid of this. I remained with Mastodon for around 17 months till I grew tired of few posts each day and cancelled my account.

I re-signed with X and started connecting with communities. Despite the volume being there daily the thing that now frustrates me with this platform is the volume of fake bot-based accounts that befriend me daily. I’m uninterested in retaining these and am blocking them, but would love to know why X isn’t eradicating these fake accounts, they are entirely obvious.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started